Board of Directors

CLOCKSS is a tax-exempt, 501(c)3, not-for-profit charitable organization, developed  and governed by libraries and publishers. Unlike other archiving solutions, CLOCKSS answers to its community, not to a parent company.


The CLOCKSS Board of Directors is committed to the following values, to ensure the organization’s sustainability:

  • Because money spent on digital archiving competes with other needs, CLOCKSS is committed to minimizing publishers’ fees so that publishers will not pass along additional costs to libraries. CLOCKSS also aims to minimize libraries’ fees, so that they have more money to spend on content from publishers.
  • All triggered content is made freely available. CLOCKSS will not create additional access barriers.


The Board of Directors guides CLOCKSS’ management and future and sets annual fees. Because CLOCKSS is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization, all contributions to CLOCKSS are tax deductible in the United States.


The following individuals represent their organizations on the CLOCKSS Archive Board of Directors:

  • Roxanne Missingham, Australian National University
  • Andreas Degkwitz, Humboldt University
  • Marion Frank-Wilson, Indiana University
  • Hideaki Takeda, National Institute of Informatics
  • Tim Martin, OCLC
  • Denis Galvin, Rice University
  • Tom Cramer, Stanford University [Co-Chair]
  • Paolo Sirito, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
  • Geoff Harder, University of Alberta [Secretary]
  • Jeremy Upton, University of Edinburgh
  • Carla Lee, University of Virginia
  • Vida Damijonaitis, American Medical Association
  • Colette Bean, American Physiological Society
  • Gwen Evans, Elsevier
  • Laura Wilson, Emerald Group Publishing
  • Graham McCann, IOP Publishing
  • James Phillpotts, Oxford University Press
  • Kivmars Bowling, Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics [Treasurer]
  • Harry Blom, Springer Nature
  • Stewart Gardiner, Taylor & Francis
  • Duncan Campbell, Wiley [Co-Chair]
  • Jennifer Brogan, Wolters Kluwer Health

Executive Director: Alicia Wise

Last Updated: July 2021